Blogging? Is this for me?

I’m sitting here listening to the collected music from Game of Thrones, Season 6, by Ramin Djawadi, and thinking about my day. We completed two solid days of planning for the next three months with over a hundred software developers and I am exhausted. Don’t get me wrong. I love what I do. I’m a systems engineer so I always have to keep the big picture in mind, instead of dwelling on details like the development teams. But it is just plain exhausting. As an introvert, being in a room talking and planning with people all day long leaves me with a fried brain! I just want to lose myself in a good book for a few days and not speak to anyone!

So I’m listening to music so I can quit thinking and just feel. Music does that for me. Especially music like this that also evokes visual images and reactions. I have been hoping to find some work/life balance and find time to write, but have been unsuccessful so far. I know that many of the authors whose books I love either still have their day job or have only recently become full time writers. To be honest, I don’t see how they do a job AND write. I seem to have nothing left at the end of the day. Perhaps it would be easier if my work was not so left brain. I don’t switch to right brain stuff very easily.

Regardless, I have decided to start writing this blog as an exercise to start doing SOMETHING that is not work-related and drags me over to my other, more creative interests. I don’t think anyone will read it, but maybe it will help me get out of the space I am in.

Once upon a time, I had hoped to do computer graphics for film. Back in the late 90’s I was blown away by what was being done with CGI and film and wanted to be a part of it. I ended up opting out because I couldn’t figure out how to fit it in with being a single mom of two young boys. So now I am working to fit something creative into my life. I don’t know if blogging is the thing for me, but it is worth a try!

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

